Canada Square, Canary Wharf remix

Traveling to London was one of my favourite trips. This painting of Canary Wharf is for my cousin if she still wants it. It’s been forever since I posted the earlier version, which was just a sketch from a photograph I took and needed more precision.

This is the largest painting I’ve done at 15 x 22 inches on 300lb cold pressed paper.  It took a really long time and I almost gave up.  One more try, and it came together over the last week, after sitting untouched for months. In the meantime I did a lot of figuring things out, and a few other paintings.

If you scroll down you can see the original draft.

Let me know what you think about the difference between both paintings.

I hope you like it. I hope she likes it! 🙂

Peace

2 thoughts on “Canada Square, Canary Wharf remix

  1. It came out well. I think they will like it. I particularly like that figure on the far left, it’s just hinted at but it works well with the light and shade. Also the work you’ve put in on the back building has paid off.

    1. Thanks Graham. She did like it after all. I was happy with the figures on the left as well. Surprisingly they were the least amount of work and look the best. The buildings were a lot of work and I would approach them differently next time by laying down some washes for the windows first; mainly because, it’s a night scene and had to show the lights turned on. It was counterintuitive. Instead I painted the buildings first then added the windows. Definitely backwards :/ so a few experience points earned!

Leave a Reply

