Favourite spot

I love how the early morning sun lights up one of my favourite spots to curl up in. I’m not usually an early riser but when I am the camera is always close by.

A favourite spot to curl up – copyright G.M. Isenor
On these early mornings, I see from my big comfy chair, beautiful sunrises that say “come paint me.”  (A few recent paintings hanging around in the background).

copyright G.M. Isenor
I’m not very self-disciplined and motivation is a fickle thing but the world around me is one of the things that motivates me to get up and paint.   Heaven knows it’s not for financial gain!

img_9929
copyright G.M. Isenor

 

For me, the “reward” from painting comes from connecting with others. I guess that’s mainly why I do what I do. It’s great to share and see what others are sharing/working on. So, a big thanks to everyone for all the likes, comments, and follows to date and for sharing your posts. There’s a ton of talent out there.

I’d also love to hear what motivates you! Post a comment below or tag a post, piece of artwork, or photograph with #periwinkleblur (so I can find you in a search) and let me know where your creative spark comes from.

Off to do my painting-a-day for… I think, day number 5.  And it’s back to watercolours after my acrylic adventure on Sunday.

3 thoughts on “Favourite spot

  1. That chair does look comfy and your room is beautiful! Nice and relaxing. All you need now is a hot cup of coffee. 🙂
    Things that motivate me? I saw a lampshade on a show on Netflix recently and I loved the colors so I painted something using those colors. Another one is music. I’m a music NUT! I take a verse, or lyric, from a song and paint it – Ex: “Mexican Radio” by Wall of Voodoo – the lyric “I wish I was in Tijuana eating barbecued iguana” inspired me to paint an iguana and put him on a plate. Another source of inspiration are sayings. I haven’t painted this yet but the phrase “with flying colors” is in the back of my mind. One more – one of my favorite videos and songs by Stone Temple Pilots – “Sour Girl.” I painted several scenes from that video. Here’s a link to one painting and the video is below it. The video is so hauntingly awesome! https://carolsartstudio.wordpress.com/2016/08/12/scott-weiland-stone-temple-pilots-watercolor/

Leave a Reply

