Spring Burning, Portugal 

Spring Burning, Portugal wc 140lb Strathmore

Painting smoke, mist, and fog are skills I’m still working on. Same thing goes for glass, reflections on water, and light.

I’m not sure why they were burning the grass in this spot – perhaps for crops, or maybe another windmill was planned for the site.

Whatever the reason, it was visually interesting to drive by. Long shadows and half shapes appeared and disappeared in the haze.

I snapped a quick picture so I could try painting it later.

Two years later, I started this before the holidays, and just got around to completing it today. And, while I haven’t totally achieved the look I was going for, I think some bits turned out okay… more importantly, I had fun trying.

4 thoughts on “Spring Burning, Portugal 

Leave a Reply

