Glass practice

glass practice wc 140 lb cp 5×7

I’ve been trying to learn to paint glass for a while. Finally, I chose to tackle a lesson from the book, Dramatic Light, by Patrick Howe (published in 2006 by North Light Books). It was a good exercise in getting the values right and reserving whites.

While the author suggested an optional sprig in the glass jar, he cautioned that it could be catastrophic… so, I didn’t include it. The apricots are small but then so is my painting. The irony of painting loose while following a step by step lesson was not lost on me. 

It required wet on dry, wet on wet, and several layers for a simple picture; and I opted to not work with the recommended colours as I didn’t have some of them in my palette.  

I like the dark areas and how they show the light.  Hopefully the improvising worked!

7 thoughts on “Glass practice

  1. Your painting is fantastic! That really looks like a jar!!! 🙂 I won’t even attempt this in watercolor – not till I get good enough. I did it in oil and it turned out good. But that is fantastic Periwinkle!!! 🙂

    1. If you can do it in oil I’m sure you can do it in watercolour. The trick was to mask the edge of the jar and around the apricots first. Then fill in the background followed by the interior of the jar. Finally remove the mask and add the detail. Simple but it did take a while as you have to let the layers dry before adding another to get the rich darks. We only get better by trying to do what we can’t. 😀

      1. I’ll try it in the future even though it scares me. haha 🙂 I think I’m going to try my hand at a waterfall. I’ve never done it before. Just working up the nerve. 🙂 haha

Leave a Reply

