Hen Pheasant with Rose Hips

 

Hen Pheasant with Rose Hips 9×12 WC on 140 lb Canson cp
 
Seven pheasants ran across my yard last week — six females and one male. This lovely girl stopped long enough for me to to take a few reference photos.  

Several friends suggested I try to paint her.  The photo wasn’t great so I had to embellish in some places with shadow and highlights.  I chose a fairly limited palette, mostly burnt sienna, and kept the composition simple by eliminating several branches. I let the ones that are there give the suggestion of more.  I’m not sure that’s what we mean by “less is more” but I’ll take it!

2 thoughts on “Hen Pheasant with Rose Hips

Leave a Reply

