Tulips

 

Tulips 7×11 wc on 140lb cp

I painted this while my parents visited yesterday and today. 

It was fun to talk about painting with them. Dad first taught me how to paint with oils when I was less than 10 years old. We agreed that water colour is much more difficult. 

Naturally, I want to add more intense colour but after struggling with flowers for ages, I’m pretty happy to leave this alone. It will be framed for Exhibit and Sale at The Landing in our village on Saturday. 

Our, hopefully last, winter blizzard is just getting started. Hope everyone in the northern hemisphere is looking forward to spring’s arrival next week.

12 thoughts on “Tulips

    1. I was pleased with the light there not so much the stems and leaves. I’m working through another one in the same subject and will definitely try to increase the value range. It’s a great tip! Thank you!

  1. Lovely Tulips! We have something in common my dad is an artist and oil painter I grow up all my life surrounded by his beautiful art, I love oil but chose watercolors and like you and your dad me and my dad agreed that watercolor is much more difficult! 🙂 nice to see your work!

Leave a Reply

