Cape Blomidon from Grand Pré en plein air

Grand Pré from the lookoff 5×7 WC 140 lbs Arches co
After two hours of sitting outside, it’s a little wobbly, but I managed to avoid putting in too much detail.  

The church could be softened to match the other objects, but it does pull the viewer further into the painting (perhaps a little too quickly). I didn’t get all the trees done and the grass values could be darker. The farms in the distance weren’t really visible so that simplified things. 

Blomidon was shrouded in fog when I started but the day turned into clear blue sky and sunshine by the time the foreground was done.  It was time to move on. 

Overall, I think it seems rushed but I’m going to resist “fixing” it… at least for a while.

In the end, the chairs kept attracting tourists, and a few selfies were taken with Grand Pré in the background. I stood up and took my own.

painting selfie

Leave a Reply

