Across the Estuary

The sun’s back out but my energy is low so my practice today is limited to a 3×5 moleskin page.

It was a good practice mixing greens using my travel palette. I purchased the compact set in London and although they are Winsor & Newton, they seem a little different from the tubes I buy in Canada.

I’ve been taking my regular palette with me the last few times I’ve painted and had better success. I’m likely just more familiar with it. There may be no correlation. But, I really want to go minimalist on this plein air thing; there may be a few potential trips coming up.

I think I’m going to start keeping track of the colours I use most and only take those.  I wonder, do other painters have a variety of pallets for plein air: a forest palette, an urban palette, a seaside palette, or a flower palette?

2 thoughts on “Across the Estuary

  1. I just use a warm and cool red, yellow and blue and raw and burnt sienna. I could get rid of the siennas and bring it down to six colours. I use this chromatic palette for acrylics and oils with white and some black. I suppose there is logic in having a greater range of colours for flower painting as you might want vibrancy and colour mixing produces duller mixes as pigments and dyes produce colours subtractively.

    1. I do believe I have too much choice in my palette. It sounds like yours is optimal. I rely on my burnt sienna for mixing blacks. I don’t do a lot of flower painting but hope to at some point. Thanks for sharing what’s worked for you.

Leave a Reply

