Balancing the grrreens

The three points of practice in this sketch of my garden were catching the light, playing with various shades of green while not letting them overpower the flowers, and introducing a variety of tonal values in the blossoms without getting too detailed.  

A new #10 worked great for a lemon yellow first layer but I was down to my tiniest brushes by the time it was done.

I stayed loose for most of the hour and a half, and resisted the urge to detail things.  I think I will go back and add some detail to the edging. It’s too rounded for an 8×8 post. 

The colours and lightness remind me of illustrations in some children’s books I read as a little girl.   Maybe I should add a small bird or two?

2 thoughts on “Balancing the grrreens

Leave a Reply

